Karen Lewis receives Outstanding Educator of the Year Award

Karen Lewis receives Outstanding Educator of the Year Award
By: Grace Gephardt, ASPE President

The Outstanding Educator of the Year Award is awarded to a member that has been involved in human simulation education for more than seven years, has made significant contributions to the community, and is recognized as a leader within their own institution, the community, and in national and international organizations. Each year, nominations are sought and reviewed by an ad hoc committee of former recipients who carefully consider all nominees before arriving on a final decision. This year’s Outstanding Educator of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Karen Lewis during the ASPE Conference in Alexandria.

Dr. Lewis has been an ASPE member since 2002, has worked on the Publications and Website committee and been Editor-In-Chief of the ASPE Quarterly. She has also been involved in the formation of our organization’s Standards of Best Practices and has worked diligently to strengthen crucial relationships with our affiliate organizations. Our honoree has represented ASPE with the highest standards of professionalism, grace and competence and has contributed countless hours of thought, focused attention and energy to multiple projects through the years. She has contributed greatly to the success and morale of ASPE, often leading by example. Included in the letter of nomination were phrases like “no one else has moved this organization so far, so fast.”There has not been anyone like her – and she has set the bar very high for all of us that follow in her footsteps.

Congratulations to this year’s Outstanding Educator of the Year award, Dr. Karen Lewis!

Publications Committee Mission:“To bring high quality reporting of current research, trends, techniques and information regarding SP methodology and other relevant industry articles to the attention of the membership through the web-based ASPE eNews blog.”

Share this post:

Comments on "Karen Lewis receives Outstanding Educator of the Year Award"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment