Diane Ferguson Receives Outstanding Educator of the Year Award

Diane Ferguson Receives Outstanding Educator of the Year Award
Submitted by: Jennie Strujik, University of Washington

In recognition of the outstanding talent within the Association of Standardized Patient Educators, we annually honor an individual ASPE member through the “Outstanding SP Educator Award.”

To be eligible for the award the nominee must:

  • Be an active member of ASPE
  • Have been involved in SP education/training for more than seven years
  • Have made significant contribution to the SP community by providing   professional development and/or guidance to newcomers in the field
  • Be recognized as a leader by working with varied levels of faculty within their own institution, the SP community, and in national or international organizations (i.e., ASPE, AAMC, CAME, NBME, ECFMG, etc.)

Diane Ferguson is a founding member of ASPE. Since 2002, she has served three terms on the ASPE Board of Directors, twice as a committee chair and once as an elected officer. Diane has a long record of scholarship in the field of SP Education, often presenting at national and international conferences to promote the use of SP methodology in health professions training. She is currently working with the ASPE/Tellyes committee to develop and launch Train the Trainer courses that will expand SP methodology across China.

Diane has served as a mentor and guide to new SP educators throughout her participation in ASPE, helping to launch several new programs around the globe.

“Diane has tirelessly served on many ASPE committees over the years,” says ASPE President Val Fulmer, “and has been an exemplar of hard work and dedication to the field to those working beside her. Her passion for this work is infectious. Congratulations Diane, on a well-earned recognition!”

Publications Committee Mission: “To bring high quality reporting of current research, trends, techniques and information regarding SP methodology and other relevant industry articles to the attention of the membership through the web-based ASPE eNews blog.”

Please provide comments, questions or suggestions about the ASPE eNews Blog here.

Share this post:

Comments on "Diane Ferguson Receives Outstanding Educator of the Year Award"

Comments 0-5 of 1

Mary Cantrell - Monday, September 17, 2018

Well Deserved!

Please login to comment