International Committee

Mission Statement:

The international committee is charged with building member networks, identifying cultural differences in context and approach to SP simulation, and outlining the needs of international SP programs.

Projects of this year:

1.) Members of the Committee are participating in two research projects:

- A qualitative study on how the ASPE standards are being implemented around the world, led by the International Member Liaison, Beate Brem.
- A study led by Karen Szuater from the  Grants and Research Committee investigates how methods for research with SP methodology are reported.

2.) This committee facilitates the process for translations of the ASPE Standards of Best Practice into languages other than English. For current translations in Japanese, French, Chinese and Spanish see:

- If you are interested in translating the ASPE SOBP please contact the Committee Chair, Cathy Smith at  [email protected]

3.) Presentations at various conferences, including the ASPE annual conference, and webinars. In addition, in 2021, we are presenting at the Japanese Medical Conference.

International committee members presented “Challenges of Working with Faculty—Perspectives from around the World” at Kansas City conference 2018.

International Committee Members:

Tanya Tierney, Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Singapore
email: [email protected]

Past Chair:
Cathy Smith, BA (hons), MA, PhD, Baycrest Health Sciences Educational Consultant 
email: [email protected]

Committee members

  • Keiko Abe, Aichi Medical University, College of Nursing, Japan
  • Reem N. Al-Ajmi, Princess Nourah Bint Abdulrahman  University, KSA
  • Claudia Andrea Arancibia, Universidad de Chile, Chile
  • Anne Bellot, Caen University Hospital, France
  • Benjamin Blatt, George Washington University, USA
  • Beate Brem, University of Bern, Institute for Medical Education, Switzerland
  • Carol Fleishman, Johns Hopkins Medicine, USA
  • Henrike Hölzer, Consultant, Germany
  • Hwang Hua, Nanjing Medical University, China
  • Elizabeth Kachur, Medical Education Development-Global Consulting, USA
  • Sheng-Po Kao, Buddhist Tzu Chi General Hospital, Taiwan
  • Carine Layat Burn, Centre for Psychotherapies, Neuchatel, Switzerland
  • Nicola Ngiam, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Martina Plag, U of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Claudia Schlegel, Berner Bildungszentrum Pflege, Switzerland
  • Louise Schweickerdt, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, SA
  • Laura Shen, China
  • Meghana Sudhir, Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences, Dubai, UAE
  • Jian Tang, Tianjin Medical University, China
  • David Li Li, MD, PhD, CHSE, FSSH, Guangzhou First People’s Hospital, South China University of Technology, Guangdong, China
  • Tameika Symonds, University of Arizona, USA
  • Valina Peter, Ross University, Barbados














(Committee overview captured from the 2021 ASPE Annual Conference, A Virtual Experience)

Locations of International Committee Members