Membership Committee

(Committee overview captured from the 2021 ASPE Annual Conference, A Virtual Experience)

Mission Statement:

The mission of the Membership Committee is to be in touch with the needs of ASPE members, represent the needs of the membership to the Board of Directors, and to help grow the membership of ASPE in order to propel the organization.  The committee also houses the Special Interest Groups (SIGs), and participation in an ASPE SIG is one of the many benefits of membership.

Special Interest Groups (SIGs):

  • Gynecologic Teaching Associate (GTA)/Male Urogenital Teaching Associate (MUTA). 
    • Hybrid Simulation
    • Inter-Professional Education
    • Social Justice
    • SP’s Beyond Healthcare

COMMITTEE CHAIR (2023-2024):

Catherine Hagele, MFA, Perelman School of Medicine at the Univeristy of Pennsylvania


Bethany Fearnow, CHSE, Elon School of Health Sciences

PAST CHAIR (2020-2021):

Kelly Branford, BA, Duke University School of Medicine Durham, NC, USA


Mary Aiello, SIU School of Medicine
Jan Barber: Robert Morris University
Lorena Dobbie: Social Justice SIG Co-Chair, University of Toronto
Martina Plag: Social Justice SIG, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Diane Ferguson: UT Health SA, Long School of Medicine
Carol Fleishman: Hybrid Simulation SIG Chair, Johns Hopkins Medicine
Marcy Hamburger: McGovern Medical School
Carla Kruger: Texas Chiropractic College
Gretchin Lair: SP Resource Community, Portland, OR
Denise LaMarra: SPs Beyond Healthcare SIG Chair, University of Pennsylvania
Deborah Laubscher: Emory University School of Medicine
Audrey Bobick: University of New Mexico
Jen Owens: Membership Committee Past Chair, George Washington University School of Medicine
Valina Peters: Ross University School of Medicine, Barbados
Mitzi Scotten: New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine at Arkansas State
Julie Swenson: University of South Dakota
Nita Skillman: Membership Committee Immediate Past Chair, Elon University
Tim Webster: GTA/MUTA SIG Chair, University of Manitoba